Greasy Hair, Don’t Care

As I became more invested in makeup and skin care and other beauty, knowledge about hair care was (and continues to be) something that lacked. I’m lucky to have naturally wavy, beachy hair, so most of the time I can “style” my hair just by letting it down out of the messy bun it has undoubtedly been in all day, shake it out, and I’m good to go.

When I was a senior in high school, I decided to spice up my life, and my brunette locks, by falling slave to the then-current ombré trend. I was a brunette my whole life, and I fell in love with the new color and the change it brought. I wanted more. A lot more. The next time I got my hair done, I had my colorist bring the blonde up higher.

Coloring my hair required me to change my hair routine. And by routine, I mean whatever shampoo and conditioner was on sale at the drug store that day. I started researching the best hair care for people with colored hair, and although I’ve definitely made changes to the actual products I use, but probably the biggest thing I learned from this whole experience is the damage that over-washing your hair can cause. Coloring your hair dries it out enough, and too much washing doesn’t help.

For those of you with thicker hair cutting down on washing may seem like no big deal, but my hair is very fine (thanks, mom.) So, I was faced with a hair conundrum, if you will. If I continued washing my hair daily, I would risk making it extremely dry and brittle. If I didn’t, my hair would get greasy. And I don’t mean a slight slick to my hair, I mean limp, stringy and just plain gross.

I decided to start cutting down on the shampooing, and in its place, gained a new best friend: dry shampoo.

Over the past few years, I’ve tried tons of different dry shampoos, some I love and swear by, and others I could go without. No matter what, now, I seriously can’t live without a full can of dry shampoo on me at all times. I used to think dry shampoo was threatening, and that it would make my hair feel chalky, but the right one will do just the opposite. It’ll put the life back into my hair when there isn’t any left, and will get me through those second-day or third-day hair days.

(Before we get to the actual list, I must admit, I haven’t mastered the perfect way to apply my dry shampoo yet. Because my hair gets so greasy, I usually apply it to my roots close to the crown of my head, separating different sections without going too far down the scalp. I usually end it with flipping my hair over and applying a healthy amount in sections on the back of my head, which tends to get super greasy)

Without further ado, here are my favorite dry shampoos:

  1. Bumble and Bumble Prêt-á-Powder: This powder dry shampoo is probably the best one I have ever used. I am truly obsessed with it. I was wary at first; dumping white powder into my brunette roots seemed like a recipe for disaster, but with a little root scrunching (that phrase sounds like a medieval torture method!), it’s practically invisible. Also, am I the only one who enjoys seeing the white powder when you first apply dry shampoo? Only then do I feel like it’s actually doing something. Anyway, there’s a single, teeny hole at the top of the bottle so you can really control where the powder goes and how much you use. My favorite thing about this dry shampoo is that it’s also a style extender, and gives me way more volume than most other spray dry shampoos. I love using this even on days when I have clean hair just to give it some texture and grit, and I especially like using it on the ends of my hair and scrunching it up to add waves and volume.
  2. Dry Bar Detox Dry Shampoo is definitely my favorite spray dry shampoo. The reason I like it is because it does exactly what it says it will, and it does it well. It soaks up oil, adds volume, and is hardly noticeable. Some spray dry shampoos tend to weigh my hair down, but this one has such a light mist that I can hardly feel it. There’s not much else to say about it besides the fact that if I’m struggling to find a new dry shampoo, I always come back to this one.
  3. Living Proof Perfect Hair Day Dry Shampoo: This dry shampoo intrigued me when I first heard about it. I was so interested because unlike most dry shampoos that basically mask the oil and grease in your hair, this one claimed to actually clean it. You’re supposed to wait 30 seconds once you apply the shampoo to let it clean your hair, and simply shake your hair out. Voila! Again, this dry shampoo is great because it does what it says without weighing your hair down. I don’t know if I believe the claim that it actually cleans your hair, but it’s enough to hold me over until my next wash, and that’s all I care about.
  4. Dry Bar Triple Sec 3-in-1: When this came out, everyone lost their shit. Like the name suggests, it’s a 3-in-1 volumizer, texturizer and dry shampoo, similar to the claims the the Bumble and Bumble one makes. A saleswoman at Sephora told me that unless I had super greasy hair, I could probably just use this as my regular dry shampoo. I will say, although this did the job, it was a much better texturizer than it was a dry shampoo. I did enjoy it, especially when I had clean hair and definitely needed a little extra oomph. I would recommend smelling this in the store first if you’re not the biggest fan of super sweet scents, or if you’re planning on living with people who aren’t the biggest fan of sweet scents. I got many an angry text message from my lovely roommates who became instantly nauseous at the smell.
  5. Herbal Essences Naked Dry Shampoo: This is honestly the only drugstore dry shampoo that works for me (although I’m dying to try Batiste). It’s also my favorite dry shampoo smell. I love using this on days where my hair doesn’t look too greasy. I’ve noticed that if I apply too much, it works against me by weighing my hair down, so this product does have its limits. But, it’s much less expensive than any other dry shampoo on this list and if your greasy hair days aren’t too bad, this should work great for you.
  6. Sally Hershberger 24K Supreme Stylist Voluminous Dry Shampoo: Stealing things from my mom must be a theme on this blog. Last time my mom and I went to Sephora, she ended up purchasing this dry shampoo at the recommendation of a salesperson. Obviously we share it now. I like this dry shampoo because it goes on clear and adds a lot of volume, but, similar to the Herbal Essences and Triple Sec, I feel like this product is much better as a styling and texturizing product than a dry shampoo. Let’s just say, if you haven’t showered in three days (guilty!) and are in desperate need of some assistance, I would check out the first three products in this list over this one.
Leave a Reply

