Fragrance Favorites

Ever since my nana bought me my first perfume (Mary Kate and Ashley’s Coast to Coast) from our neighborhood Claire’s, fragrance has always been a huge part of my life. For me, fragrance could possibly be my favorite of the 5 senses. It can take me back to a memory, a place or a moment in ways that other senses can’t. The woody smell of a fire on a cold night in winter, the clean scent of sunscreen and saltwater, or the aroma of freshly baked pie on Thanksgiving morning all carry such fond, happy memories for me. Over the years, I’ve tried to get my own scents and what perfumes I wear to carry the same effect.

My mom passed down her love of perfume to me. We both have a hard time picking one we love (never get stuck with me when I go perfume shopping), but when we do, we become obsessed. Even the act of picking out perfumes brings back times where I would lose my mom in Macy’s after she made a beeline to the fragrance section, or how she once found a perfume she liked just as much as her beloved D&G Light Blue only to find they discontinued it after she finished her first bottle (RIP DKNY Be Delicious).

So, instead of just listing off my favorite perfumes, I thought I’d tell you why exactly I love them so much. Perfume is a strong component of my daily routine, and I struggle between picking up a new one every time I enter the mall or wearing the same perfume forever and ever and have it be my iconic scent. Wouldn’t it be nice one day to have a friend smell some kind of fragrance somewhere far away and immediately think of you? Or am I the only one who thinks about weird stuff like that.

I definitely tend to rotate my perfumes between seasons because as you can imagine, I like stronger fragrances during the winter and fresher ones during the summer.

See by Chloé – This perfume was really the first one I fell head-over-heels for and wore religiously. I’m talking every single day, whether I was going out on the town or laying in bed. I seriously must have gone through 3 bottles.

I wore this fragrance the entire first semester of my freshman year of college. I absolutely love how fruity it is without being too sweet. It has notes of apple in it which was a completely unique scent for me an it’s why I chose it to be my Fall fragrance that year. Now whenver my wear it, my friends say that it “smells like fresman year in here” because whenever I put it on it brings us straight back to that time in our lives.

Light Blue by Dolce and Gabbana – This is a little bit of a cheat for me. I actually don’t wear Light Blue, but for about 5 years, it was all my mom would wear, and when I say “wear,” I mean she would practically bathe in it. Somehow though, it never was overpowering on her and just smelled like, well, her. Light Blue has become such an iconic scent for so many women and it’s not hard to see why. It’s a deep scent but it also has a little bit of fruitiness going on and wherever she went, my mom would always get compliments.

Beautiful by Esteé Lauder – Sorry, I’m cheating again. I’ve never personally worn Beautiful, but it’s what my mom wore when my parents got married, just like the commercial! Even she said, “I did it because there was a bride in the commercial!” Because I’m insane and am already planning out my wedding, I want to wear this perfume as my “something borrowed.” Cute, right?

Beautiful is kind of spicy but also sweet and fresh and not overpowering at all.

 

Coco Mademoiselle by Chanel – This is my go-to perfume and probably will be for a long time because no matter how much I wear it, I never get sick of it. Unlike other Chanel perfumes like No. 5 or Coco which I sometimes feel like smell like my grandmother, Coco Mademoiselle is fresh and light and citrusy. And, it’s the only perfume to last all day for me.

Daisy Eau So Fresh by Marc Jacobs – Everyone and their mother is obsessed with Daisy Eau So Fresh, and for good reason. First of all, the bottle itself is absolutely beautiful. Second of all, it smells absolutely delicious. It’s fruity and fun and it’s definitely a “young” scent, but everyone, no matter what age, can wear it. My favorite thing about this perfume is just how easy it is to wear on a daily basis, and how much it reminds me of springtime and sunshine. Plus, I can’t count the times I’ve recognized the scent on someone and started a conversation about it or how many times that’s happened to me. It’s surely on its way to becoming an iconic fragrance.

Wood Sage and Sea Salt by Jo Malone – Everyone went bananas when the famed Jo Malone released Wood Sage and Sea Salt as a scent, and LORD it smells good. Similar to Daisy Eau So Fresh, this scent is young and joyful, but the thing about Jo Malone is that she creates scent combinations that we didn’t even know could exist, and this is one of them. Wood Sage and Sea Salt sounds like it would be woody and deep, but it’s fresh and sweet and not too heavy. Jo is pricey, but next time you pass a kiosk in a department store, smell this perfume. You might accidentally end up reaching for your wallet.

 English Pear and Freesia by Jo Malone  – I call this perfume my “big girl perfume” because when I wear it, I feel like a mature and classy woman. Again, this perfume has such a unique scent. It’s fruity from the pear but has some sweetness from the freesia, and almost has spicy undertones.`The first time I smelled it in the Bloomingdales on 59th Street with my mom, I was obsessed. She was too. In fact, I just tried to go find it in my room to remind myself of its scent and discovered that she used up my remaining half a bottle while I was at school.

I decided not to add any pictures to this post because the only bottle of perfume I have at home that’s on this list is See, and as much as I love it, I don’t think I could find a way to make one picture of the same bottle work more than once.

I hope everyone has a fantastic smelling day!

Leave a Reply

