The Most Difficult Avocado Toast I’ve Ever Made

wowLast week, my mom and I went to the grocery store and picked up some avocados. They weren’t ripe yet, but we weren’t worried. A few days in a brown paper bag left to their own devices and they would surely turn into beautiful, soft, dark avocados just begging to be cut open.

All but one avocado became ripe within the week, and I decided to use the last one, when it also ripened, to make avocado toast. Well, on Friday, when I was originally going to make the creamy treat, it was still hard as a rock.

No big deal, I thought to myself, It’ll be ripe by Sunday for SURE.

The avocado was STILL rock-solid this morning so I scoured the internet in desperation to find quick ways to ripen avocados. I tried baking it in the oven covering it with tin foil. I tried cutting it in half and microwaving it to soften it. All it did was make the avocado hot and even more rubbery than it was to begin with. Cue the avocado breakdown.

After dragging my feet to put normal clothes on (I was still in pajamas at this point, of course), I dragged myself to my car and braced myself for the grocery store on a Sunday morning. I was going to have this avocado toast if my life depended on it. After getting caught behind a never-ending train, I managed to pick up soft, ripe avocados from the grocery store and made it home in one piece.

Although my avocado toast breakfast ended up being an avocado toast lunch, it was still delicious and satisfying and is still one of my favorite ways to use an avocado. I’m an avocado toast purist; for me, the perfect avocado toast shouldn’t have fancy things like poached eggs or shaved cheese. It should be simple bread with a TON of avocado on top. Simple and the most delicious.

This avocado toast is inspired by the avocado toast at JUGOS in Boston, which is easily one of the best things I’ve ever tasted and has ruined all future avocado toasts for me. If you’re in the area, make sure you stop by this teeny indoor juice stand that’s attached to Back Bay Station. It’ll blow your mind.Processed with VSCO with m3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with m3 preset

Avocado Toast

  • One ripe avocado
  • One slice of toasted multigrain bread
  • Extra virgin olive oil to taste
  • Fresh lemon slices to taste
  • Salt, pepper and red pepper flakes to taste
  1. Toast the bread! Duh
  2. Halve the avocado and remove the flesh from both sides with a spoon. Mash the flesh with a spoon or fork in a mug or a small bowl. I like my avocado to be pretty chunky, but you can go as far with the mashing as you please. I do prefer mashing to leaving the avocado in slices, because I think you get more out of it.
  3. Take your avocado and spread it all over your toast. That’s right. The whole avocado. One piece of toast. Your avocado:toast ratio should be about 1.5:1 or 2:1.  Mmmm.
  4. Top with your desired amount of fresh lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper, and pepper flakes. Personally, I like a lot of everything, so there a little pools of lemon juice and olive oil in the craters of avocado. Is your mouth watering yet?
  5. Slice as you desire and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

