Scheduling Issues and Summer Makeup

It’s a rainy, tornado-y day today in New Jersey; the perfect setting to write a blog post and make some homemade tortilla chips (maybe you’ll see a post on that in the future?)

Obviously after committing myself to a consistent posting schedule of Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays, I missed the first Thursday. But, I promise I have a good reason. I got the chance to see Arthur Miller’s The Crucible on Broadway with one of my good friends, and it was absolutely wonderful.

When today’s post was still destined for yesterday, my plan was to  post about one of my favorite ways to prepare my one of my favorite (and apparently many other people’s favorite ) ingredient: avocado. But my avocados aren’t ripe yet, so you’ll just have to wait till Sunday to see that.

Instead, I decided to continue this week’s beauty theme with my favorite way to do my makeup this summer. Everyday makeup for me has always been simple and light. During the school year, I simply don’t have the time for a full face of complex makeup every single day, and because I like to stay in bed until the very last minute, I’ve been able to contain my makeup doing to a 7-10 minute time bracket (I’ve tried for 5 minutes, but that darn mascara application always ruins it!)

I’ve carried my quick and easy makeup skills to the summer with me, and it’s exactly what I need for everyday. Summer is the perfect time to experiment with lighter makeup, as I always end up feeling generally better about my skin. I don’t know why; maybe it’s the relaxing or the sun or the laid-back feel that every day brings.

If you peruse makeup blogs or YouTube channels even just a little bit, you’ll know that everyone and their mother is into glowy makeup right now. Whether its killer highlighters, glittery eyes, or dewy skin, everyone’s out to get that glow, and for good reason.

I love glowy makeup for summer, because I feel like it’s such a nice way to show off your skin. It’s simple, easy, and doesn’t require a lot of maintenance, and you can take it as far or as limited as you want it to. Some days (especially if I have a little color from the sun), I basically leave my skin alone, fill in my eyebrows, and apply just the tiniest bit of mascara and I’m good to go.

Ahh summertime, when the living is easy.

Most days, I start out with Laura Mercier’s Tinted Moisturizer. This part takes the shortest amount of time, because I simply squeeze some into my palms and slap it on my face. Well, not literally, but you get the gist. It blends beautifully and doesn’t look cakey even if you use a little too much. It’s been one of my favorites for years because of how foolproof and quick it is. It is a tinted moisturizer, so you won’t get the most coverage out of it, but you can build it up slightly. It may not totally conceal any blemishes, but it does take the edge off of them.  Plus, it has SPF and comes in an oil-free version as well. I use the shade “Nude.”

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

If I have spots I want to conceal, I tap on Benefit’s Erase Paste with my finger until blended. If my dark circles are bad (which they always are TBH), I tap on some Erase Paste with my finger under my eye just to conceal the darkness. I always end with L’Oreal’s Magic Lumi Highlighter Pen under my eye. I apply it in an upside-down triangle shape under my eye so it hits the side of my nose. I tap that in with my finger as well. As you can see from the picture below, the L’oreal concealer is very well-used and well-loved.This concealer is great for brightening up your under-eye area, but it doesn’t have great coverage, so pairing it with a concealer like Erase Paste helps to both conceal and brighten.  I use the shade #1 for Erase Paste and “Light” for the Lumi Concealer.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

I usually just powder my T-Zone and under my eyes, because that’s usually where my makeup slides off first. I’ve been into translucent powders lately, like this one from Revlon because I feel like they look less cakey and, well, powdery. For powder, I use a big fluffy powder brush from Real Techniques.

For my every day eyebrows, I usually just stick to tinted brow gel to keep things easy. I loooovve the Maybelline Brow Drama Gel in Deep Brown to keep things looking natural but put-together. Again, it’s very foolproof and easy to kinda just slap on and go. Are we noticing a trend here?

My eyeshadow can vary from day to day. Sometimes I don’t do anything and leave my lids bare, sometimes I use a cream eyeshadow and sometimes I experiment with different palettes. But during the summer, I actually love using a bronzer on the lid for eyeshadow. One of my favorite products to do this with is Nars Laguna Bronzer (which as you see, I have to get more of). I just take it on a fluffy brush and blend it across the whole lid. Then, I’ll pop some powder highlighter (this one from E.L.F. is great for this, and super cheap) on the center of the lid to give it some dimension. I always use an eyeshadow primer before putting anything on my eyelids because they get super oily, especially during the summer. These days, I’ve been using the Urban Decay Primer Potion.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

I curl my lashes (damn my depressingly average straight lashes that can’t hold a curl) and apply mascara. Now I’m using Benefit’s Roller Lash, which I really love. It isn’t too heavy or clumpy but lengthens my lashes and holds a curl quite well. I usually only apply one coat on an everyday basis, but I do like building it up and applying more if I’m doing something special. I wiggle the wand in the roots of my lashes and go straight up, and then I roll the wand through the lashes to hold the curl.

Side note: I’ve been applying makeup regularly for probably 7 years now and yet I still manage to get mascara on my lid every single time. Explain.

To finish up my face I pop some bronzer on a big fluffy brush and apply it to my cheeks, chin, and edge of my forehead. Unless I’m going out, I usually don’t bother with contouring.

For blush, I’ve been using the classic Nars Orgasm on the apples of my cheeks. I then go in with a highlighter on my cheekbones. I love Benefit’s Watt’s Up (ignore my chipped polish in the photo below) because it’s super creamy and takes almost no time to blend.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

I finish off with one of my favorite products ever; Pixi’s Glow Mist. Every time I wear it, I get compliments on my skin, and it’s a perfect, easy way to make your skin look beautiful. I always finish with this spray, even if I’m only wearing foundation.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

And there we go! Easy, shimmery, glowy summer makeup that’s so fun and simple to customize and make your own.

Happy summer!

 

Leave a Reply

